Featured Advice
What are your interests?



Enterprising people like situations that involve using resources for personal or corporate economic gain. Such people may have an opportunistic frame of mind, and are drawn to commerce, trade and making deals. Some pursue sales and marketing occupations. Many will eventually end up owning their own business, or in management roles in larger organisations. They tend to be very goal-oriented and work best when focused on a target. Some have an entrepreneurial inclination.

Garda Trainee Aishling Butler

Aishling Butler is a Garda Trainee in Templemore Garda College (Phase 1, week 17). She holds an honours degree in Sport and Recreation Management. Aishling aspires to be a Community Garda helping members of the public on a daily basis.

Ask me your
first question!

What were the main 'career decision' milestones in your life so far?

, Garda Trainee

The decision I made to begin my training is the main milestone so far.

Who are the people who most influenced your career direction?

, Garda Trainee

I have many friends who are members of An Garda Síochana and they always speak highly of their career.

How did you go about getting your current job?

, Garda Trainee

I applied through publicjobs.ie.

Describe a typical day?

, Garda Trainee

My day is 9.00am - 5.00pm Monday to Friday.
A typical day involves learning about different areas of the Gardaí from Law to self defence to preparation of files.

What are the main tasks and responsibilities?

, Garda Trainee

Being professional at all times, being accountable with tasks such as reports, statements and presentations.

What are the main challenges?

, Garda Trainee

So far in my training the main challenges would be getting used to the change of lifestyle inside the college.

What's cool?

, Garda Trainee

The variety and the people I meet everyday.

What's not so cool?

, Garda Trainee

So far I can't say I dislike anything. Things are challenging but you grow to like the tasks.

What particular skills do you bring to your workplace?

, Garda Trainee

My interpersonal skills - I believe having a way with people is important in this line of work.

What subjects did you take in school and how have these influenced your career path?

, Garda Trainee

LCVP - Work Experience influenced my career path.

What is your education to date?

, Garda Trainee

I have an honours degree in Sports and Recreation Management.

What aspects of your education have proven most important for your job?

, Garda Trainee

Work experience, role plays as coach and presentations.

What have been the most rewarding events in your career so far?

, Garda Trainee

Beginning my training is so far my most rewarding event.

What personal qualities do you have that helps you in your career?

, Garda Trainee

I believe I'm good with people and this helps in this line of work.

What is your dream job?

, Garda Trainee

I see myself as a Community Garda out there helping the public on a day to day basis.

Does your job allow you to have a lifestyle you are happy with?

, Garda Trainee

As a trainee we don't really fully understand the lifestyle yet but hopefully in 16 weeks I will find out what type of lifestyle we will have and I've no doubt I will adjust.

What advice would you give to someone considering this job?

, Garda Trainee

Take every opportunity available, don't be afraid to do voluntary work and get involved in communities.

What are the three most important personal characteristics required for the job?

, Garda Trainee

Interpersonal Skills, Communication and Patience. 

Have you undertaken, or do you plan to undertake any further training as part of your job?

, Garda Trainee

I will take any opportunity that arises in the future.

What kinds of work experience would provide a good background for this position?

, Garda Trainee

Working with Communities. Office work would be beneficial as it would help you develop communication skills which is key.

What is your current job title?

, Garda Trainee

Garda Trainee

Ask a question about...
  • Career Development?
  • Current Job?
  • Education and Training?
  • Personal Qualities?
  • Advice for Others?